Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After using some of the tips you guys gave me I have found a spot that I am going to check out next week. I am going to get there about 1/2 before sunrise and head into the woods. What I would like to know is what to look for. I am completely new to hunting turkeys and this year I just want to see and hear some birds...killing would just be a bonus at this point. What are some signs, places, landmarks, terrains, etc that turkeys would be found. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks guys!

·
Registered
216 Posts
The car

Now this my sound weird but I like to get the area I am hunting about an hour early and just savor the still and quiet before dawn, and more often than not when I open my car door with the keys still in the ignition the open door alarm goes off and sets off a turkey roosting along with the occasional owl.

That is usually the direction I start my hunt at. This has actually worked for me several times
:chicken:

·
Registered
137 Posts
Most important is where they are gobbling. Sneak near that spot and try to see in which direction the toms are going. Chances are they will do the same thing Opening Day. If possible, see if they go to an established strut zone (field, logging path, clear spot in woods, etc). Once you find this, set up there Opening morning, call minimally, and let them come to you. Whatever you do, do not let them bust you. Do not call before Opening Day.
As far as favorite spots, I like to put dekes in field and sit on edge in cover. Patience almost always pays off. If you can find their roost and where they want to go, that's all you need.

·
Registered
577 Posts