Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pretty sure it is a butler garter snake. There were a few underline a wood pile I was tossing into the fire ring tonight. Saw another when lighting the fire. We are in northern pickaway county. I don't mind them as long as I know they are not poisonous which I am pretty sure this one is not.

Sorry for the bad pic but it was dark. uploadfromtaptalk1338173820724.jpg

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

Attachments

·
Registered
502 Posts
Can't tell from the pic. If you can get close enough to see the eyes, check the shape of the pupil of the eye. I'm pretty sure that snakes that are considered harmless have round pupils, while the dangerous ones have vertical pupils.

·
Registered
328 Posts
I'm by no means a snake expert but I've seen many a black and yellow garter snakes. Based on the picture and not being able to see any other details, I'd guess that's what you have there.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yeah sorry about the pic. Round head, round eyes. Very Curios but not aggressive. Long yellow stripes lingth of the body. Had a base pattern of fine checkering almost like a copperheard.

I am not a big snake fan, but I am past my killem all stage. Wife and kids agent though. Once I validate what these are I am going to put my foot down on leaving them alone.

I'll try to get a better pic today. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,604 Posts
By your decsription its a garter. Id kill all them snakes. I cant stand them no matter if they are harmless or not. I like to kill them big water snakes and eat them. They are real good tastin if you fry them in fish crisp.

OutdoorHub Mobile, the information engine of the outdoors

·
Registered
48,626 Posts
if they cant escape they will play dead...theyre really a neat,nice snake...pick em up,play with them...:biggrin:

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·