School Me

3K views 17 replies 7 participants last post by  deerhunt45 
#1 ·
This is what I have for bowfishing.

Complete newbie, so school me.

See less See more
#4 ·
I'm serious you guys and trying to boost this site and forum :p

Is there a right or wrong way to spool the line?

What can I expect shooting the heavy fiberglass arrow? The bow is 55# 62". The reel is a fred bear :D

Any safety precautions? Never loosed and arrow that was attached to something ?

I have found the fish, hope I can stick a couple. I want to try smoked carp!

#5 · (Edited by Moderator)
thats what i always used...i just wound it on...make sure the line doesnt gang up on the real/bow,its very common sense but i have had arrows bounce back,there is stuff that will illiminate that...but i never used it back in the days...if the fish is in deeper water you must aim lower...if its in shallow aim right on...many i shot were right at the surface...there is rigging equipment that can be attached to the arrow to prevent bounce back or you can where a motorcycle helment with a good face shield...also polorized sunglasses help spot fish under the water surface...have fun...55# is overkill,i've shot thru 3 carp with 55# that were stacked!!!:biggrin:

#6 ·
Guess I've never felt the need for helmet and faceshield for bowfishing. If I see someone out there i'll know I've found coonskinner. :coco: