Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I am new to Ohio and just wondering what the general consensus is on shooter bucks on public land. Are most hunters out to get 150" deer? Or 3-4+ yr old deer? I was wondering if most hunters on public land would let decent 2.5 yr old deer walk to see them the following year? Just some input from your experiences would be helpful. I would like to say that I would let a good 2.5 to 3 yr old walk, if I thought that fellow hunters would do the same... Any thoughts?

·
Registered
207 Posts
Honestly it will depend when and where you hunt. If you could hunt a smaller area with not many people around. I mean as a bowhunter. If you are shotgun or handgunning or even muzzleloading. You will need to take whatever comes your way.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
I've hunted public land in gun season and it was horrible. Out of staters which I'm one also but they shot every deer that ran by I believe. I seen 2 scrubs around 70" and both were shot when they went around ridge from me. Along with does everywhere. I didn't shoot a deer and wouldn't unless it was a mature deer. It may vary where you go but I doubt it if your focus is public in gun season.

·
Registered
48,626 Posts
i have let up to 140 walk...the last one turned into a 170 and was killed by a pa.hunter...i had it very close the week he killed it...i never passed when it was 170...just could not get the shot...dang...i have prolly seen 3 deer in the over 150 range in the last 5-7 yrs.and maybe 1-2 kilt in our camp...they are there...but in most cases youll go home empty handed mumbling to yourself why yoy didnt take the 140...:biggrin:if you can handle that ok...there is a very good chance the big boys get thru...:biggrin:they got a big forest to hide in and they know where to go to survive another year...:biggrin:

·
Registered
48,626 Posts