Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 2.35 acers with a 50yd. range for target and reloading testing. The backstop is a pile of dirt about 10' high. Behind is farm land with no houses in sight. I had a visit from a deputy after firing 4 rounds from a rifle that hit the target. He said a driver by was wondering if I had a good enough back stop. I told him it was good enough for me. He then told me that I couldn't shoot from a prone or standing position. I was shooting off a bench rest. I looked up Ohio laws and it basicly said you are liable if your bullet leaves your property and hits something and suggest a NRA style backstop. Doe's anyone have more incite on this and was I being shaken down.

·
Registered
3,047 Posts
I am not an expert nor a novice. Here are my thoughts. Your acreage is not that big. How far from any dwellings? I do not know why he said you can not shoot prone or standing. He might know something we don't. What could you hit if you really tried to shoot over the berm? Someone else's land? How far can you set up away from the road?

A friend of mine had a bench to shoot from that had about 12 tires lined up to shoot through like a silencer/muffler. The barrel of the rifle would just enter the "doughnut hole" and actually did reduce a lot of the blast. His dirt impact area had logs in front to stop or absorb the bullets. Also kept the dirt from moving in the heavy rain.

The Sheriff probably gave you some good advice. It probably would not hurt to go to his office one day and ask for advice on how to make your range Sheriff approved.