Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So lately I've been getting in all the practice I can between work and the kiddos and finally fealing more comfortable with my bow. My question is at some point should you practice with the broadheads you plan to use?:confused: I'm a newb to bow hunting and it would seem like there's a significant differance between field tips and shooting a broadhead? Thanks for any advice in advance! :biggrin:

·
Registered
1,858 Posts
Yes

·
Registered
48,626 Posts
i believe you should practice with the exact ones you use just be sure to put new blades in when you go hunting...number your arrows and find the 4 best shooters...practice blades are ok but get the ones youll be using dailed in with the head you will be using...every once in a while slip the used blades back in for practice,just be sure to put the good blades back in for hunting...this way you know those arrahs will be on when the time comes...:biggrin:

·
Registered
1,809 Posts
I agree with coonie.

first off tho, what head you plan to shoot?

I shoot muzzys

I will shoot one arrow at a time once I change to broadheads. I shoot it over and over maybe changing the head to a different shaft to make sure it flies the same. I save my other two muzzys for kills. Keep them sharper then hell, and ready to go.

·
Registered
136 Posts
always practice with Broadheads that you will hunt with, fieldpoints won't be on my test run....jmo

·
Registered
150 Posts
Yes you should shoot your broadheads.