Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
805 Posts
Pretty concerning. Great weather, Saturday opener, and only up 300 for the state. With many traditional counties down significantly. I’m ever the optimist, but not a great indicator of a healthy population. Which many on this forum and others have noticed a decline.

·
Registered
559 Posts
I have now hunted 5 days from shooting time until noon across several Northern Ohio counties (both the NE zone and regular zone) and can honestly say this is the least gobbling I have ever heard and fewest sightings.
I am hunting some very very productive properties that typically hold good numbers of birds and where in years past it was not uncommon to hear multiple birds gobbling every single morning. Something is up fort sure!

·
Registered
93 Posts
I've been hunting Southern OH public land for the last 4 years, which is much much less than most everyone here. Simply sharing my results and some observations.

2018 - maybe an anomaly but tipping my hat to getting in early and taking advantage of the chance before pressure was consistent ; harvested a bird off the beloved CC :) shoutout to a member here for the lead on where to hunt!
2019 - ditched SW OH and moved much further East ; 2 gobblers within range on opening youth day ; a week or two later had a tough run on a piece of public property that was actively being timbered on a specific portion, which I think definitely impacted the presence of birds