Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
452 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So apparently some vile critter has started chewing on my oak trees beside my creek. I've never seen beaver, but muskrat are somewhat common. But I wasn't aware muskrat chewed trees this big? My question is, am I dealing with a beaver or a muskrat? Is there any chance of a live trap working? I have no real experience trapping so a live trap is all I have at my disposal. And if it would work, what's my best bait and trap placement. I can take pictures of my yard, the creek and my pond if that's necessary as well.

Plant Wood Terrestrial plant Trunk Twig

Plant Wood Grass Twig Trunk

Water Plant Wood Grass Trunk

· Registered
2,633 Posts
"Do Muskrats Eat or Cut Down Trees? No, muskrats do cause damage to trees by chewing the bark from the stems but they are unlikely to cut down an entire tree. They are much smaller than beavers and eat a wider range of foods. "

I just learned something. I didn't know m-rats chewed trees. I would suggest getting in touch with the ODNR to see what you can do legally as there is a season on both critters. I think m-rats are in season now.

BTW, That's an interesting piece of wood in the 1st pic on the right side. Looks like a turtle sticking its head out of its shell to me.

23,103 Posts
What animal sign do you have around the pond or creek? Is there trails coming out of the water onto the banks? If its muskrats, they won't be that wide maybe 6", give or take.

If you have beavers around is there a dam anywhere they have built to contain the water? I have seen them take out several trees in a specific area, but no where near the diameter of what is in your pictures?