Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was contacted by a friend who was issued 5 tags for removing some deer from his farm in Lodi. He said I can only use my bow and I have to camp there and hit early. No problem but what I've no experience with is what clothing is suitable for a 90deg hunt and how the heck do I keep meat cold on the way to a processor? Will I have any issues with this and what am I allowed to do with the deer? Can I field butcher?

OutdoorHub Mobile, the information engine of the outdoors.

·
Registered
2,624 Posts
You sure can field butcher if u call in and tag Ur deer via cell phone

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

·
Registered
1,041 Posts
Turkey gear is good to wear. And ice it down and get the in side out and the out sides in.

·
Registered
48,626 Posts
i bowhunted in texas and the weather was like we've had here in columbus in the last 3 wks...98-100degrees with very high humidity...you wore net clothing but you practically melted out there and when you kilt a deer it was field dressed/skinned cut up and put in an igloo cooler in one process...sometimes we kept them in camp a week but there was always plenty of ice in that cooler...never lost a deer to spoiling...:D

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Awesome. So he said bow only. So
I'm guessing I'm shooting and not recovering? Will there be a dead deer in someones yard?

What about scent control?

·
Registered
48,626 Posts
scent control...watch what yuh eat and drink and shower(no soap) before every hunt ...it helps more than anythang out there in the scent free market...clean sweat is non smelly sweat...:D

·
Registered
3,842 Posts
Awesome. So he said bow only. So
I'm guessing I'm shooting and not recovering? Will there be a dead deer in someones yard?

What about scent control?

Shooting and not recovering?

·
Registered
3,842 Posts