close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

New to Ohio

Discussion in 'Ohio Bowhunting' started by Ohiooutdoors, Sep 7, 2012.

1. I'm brand new to Ohio, and wondering where is a good place to Hunt. I like Bow and sometimes gun, but I prefer getting outdoors the most...any help would be appreciated!

2. Depends on where your at I assume

3. I'm in the Columbus area, but don't mind driving a bit outside

I'm in the Columbus area, but don't mind driving a bit outside

4. Don't know much up that way, I know anywhere east or south east the deer are plentyfull, check out the odnr for public hunting around you, and get out there and scout, and get a plan together

5. There's plenty right in your area, just look around.

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2015
  6. I'd take a look at Deer Creek off of 71 South. Some nice sized deer over there.
    It's not very far from where you live.

RGJZ06

7. Within an hour you can be in Hocking Hills. Good areas to hunt down that way. Areas near big cities tend to draw a lot of pressure due to easy access. Good luck to you and welcome to Ohio.
    sam-r261 UP.Browser/6.2.3.8 (GUI) MMP/2.0

8. Thanks for the good tips - I got maps of deer creek wildlife management area and also the AEP coal lands just an hour east of me! Looking forward to getting out this fall..

9. Deer Creek should be pretty close as well.

RGJZ06

10. avondale which is also owned by aep and blue rock are both south of zanesville shouldn't be that bad of a drive from columbus

11. If you do your homework, just like Gary posted, there's areas right around Columbus itself that have pockets where you can get in. Local townships harbor some VERY big bucks.

12. Rushcreek has some good spots!

13. Where is Rushcreek? I couldn't find it through google.

Checked out Deer Creek today, it looks very productive, although looks like quite a bit of pressure.

14. Rush creek is just north of lancaster.