Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Stumbled along this site and like what I see. Quick intro about myself, I'm a disabled veteran of the USAF Security Forces and this year will be my first turkey season in Ohio. I'm from Western New York and live to turkey hunt. I gave up my small taxidermy shop and guided hunts to join the military and was stationed here at WPAFB. To my questions. I am getting back into turkey hunting and taxidermy and was looking into Sycamore State Park to go Thunder Chicken Hunting this Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. I was wondering from the maps that I have been studying (topo/aerial) where would a good side to start Tuesday morning? I know this is bold to ask, I usually do my own homework but my wife surprised me with all new turkey gear and TOLD me it was time for me to get back into my niche. Is Sycamore a run and gun type or sit and ambush type of place? Any advice would be helpful, and if anyone is interested in Turkey hunting in Western NY next year or this fall I am loaded with info and sweet spots (most of Chaut. County). Thanks in advance and look forward in building relationships with fellow turkey hunters.

·
5,040 Posts
Good Luck, and welcome, sorry but I've never heard of Sycamore.

·
Super Moderator
3,037 Posts
Welcome to OS. I'm not familliar with that area of the state, but it seems like a very small section of public land to target. From what I read there is only about 1500 acres of land in the park for hunting. With it's proximity to a large metropolitain area (Dayton), I would imagine it gets quite a bit of activity.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·