Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Morning All. Took the morning off from hunting, pretty frustrated with my hunts so far this year.

I’m new to ag land, I’m used to hunting big timber blocks with no major food sources. With standing beans and corn everywhere around me, I’m having trouble keying in on major deer sign. I think they’re just so spread out.

I’ve got a bumper crop of acorns around me as well, making things worse (for me the hunter, great for deer).

My question for the group is: how do you rank deer’s preferences of corn, beans, acorns, and hay/clover/natural browse. I’ve keyed in on acorns ridges and pinch points so far and I’ve been skunked.

Thanks in advance!!
James, NE Ohio

·
Registered
1,101 Posts
Find the green food sources. I never realized how true this was until last week when I found a late planted bean field (still dark green) surrounded by turnips/radishes (farmer planted as a cover crop) surrounded by mostly standing corn. This area is 90%+ AG. Yesterday evening I saw about 15 deer including a nice group of bucks in the green soybeans. There will be very limited cover after the crops are harvested. But for now, the deer are there. If someone were to look at this area on a map, they’d never expect to have this many deer here.. definitely an overlooked spot.

·
Registered
354 Posts
Fresh cut hay fields Or plowed fields with grass starting to show up are good all year

·
Registered
559 Posts
This time of year:
1. Apples
2. Green soy beans
3. White acorns
4. Freshly picked corn
5. Clover plot / young growth hay field
5. Standing corn

·
Registered
1,597 Posts
This time of yr soft mast like apples can be great .

Acorns can be great .

Green soybean fields can be great , as can alfalfa , clover , or winter wheat of rye .