close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Cleaning squirrels

Discussion in 'Ohio Small Game Hunting' started by Goshengrunter, Aug 29, 2012.

1. So I've hunted and eaten lots of squirrells before...but all the cleaning is self taught. I'm taking some kids this weekend and want to teach them the best way possible. How does everyone else clean em?

I usually gut them and skin as soon as I shoot tgen put em on ice

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

2. Every once in awhile I will skin one in the woods, but I tend to wait until I am back at my vehicle or house depending. Since most kids (and people like me) are visual learners have them watch what should be the standard of all squirrel skinning videos.

[youtube]66AVwthXgMA[/youtube]

People say it's easier to skin them warm, but those fox squirrels are tough for me any which way (unless it is a young one). I've tried immediately after shooting and waiting until later and it makes no difference to me. Gray squirrels are easy. My biggest problem is keeping the flap of skin pressed down under my boot. It always wants to slide out from underneath my boot. That's probably the biggest reason I wait until I am back at the house so I can do this on the concrete pad. I don't ever think I could skin like this in the woods unless I could find a rock somewhere which there aren't that many rocks around here. I really think I don't weigh enough to hold pressure down on the skin flap. Maybe I'll get a government grant to study the optimal minimal pressure needed to hold down a squirrel in order to skin. Oh but then I have the issue of bending over to get the squirrel under my foot to begin with. Dang this getting older stuff. :)

When all is said and done though and even with my troubles, this method has simplified skinning for me 1000%. And we don't have many grays, but man are they EASY!