Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How many die hard bullet casters are there out there. I have been casting bullets for 20 years. The last 10 I haven’t been doing much shooting. But I am planning for a big summer. I have bought a lot of wheel weights and am turning them into 1 pound ingots. Lot of work involved in this but I enjoy shooting my own cast bullets. I can’t get over the price of cast bullets now. So cheap! $20.00 or so for 500. It would make it hard to justify the cost of all the equipment to do it your self. Give us a list of the bullets you cast. Off the top of my head I can’t remember all the weights so here is my list of cal’s.
1 -.224 2 CAV.
2 - .32 A SWC 2 CAV.& a WC.2 CAV.
2 - 9mm 2 different RN RCBS & Lyman both 2 CAV.
2 - .38 A RN 4 CAV.and a WC.2 CAV.
1 - 44 gas check SWC.4 CAV.
1 - 45 LC SWC.4 CAV.
1 45 ACP SWC.4 CAV.

Buckrun

·
Registered
174 Posts
Aren't wheel weights too hard to cast bullets out of ... They are a small percentage tin I believe, I know they make hard sinkers .. I don't know if I would want to run them through my barrel .. I tried them for muzzel loadering once and didn't like them ..

For the 44, 45, 9mm there is a really reasonably priced called that I found a few years back called Berry .. I think the spelling is right .. great target bullet ... They are copper plated not jacketed so they are about have the price .. the calibers I have used I really like .... they don't leave the lead residue, are accurate and cheap ... don't get much better than that for just punching holes ... Plus they don't required a gas check...

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter #3