Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i live on the wrong side of columbus apparently when it comes to public land... the West side... The closest (worth while) places are Alum Creek and Delaware WA. I am interested in hunting both. Being that i am new to OH as of Feb, i was just wondering if these two state park/public hunting lands were very pressured? Any insight on these areas would be much appreciated. I am not too big on walking up on anyone, nor am i a fan of getting walked up on while hunting... Just looking for a few opinions on the hunting pressure in those areas...

Thanks

·
Registered
129 Posts
You may want to check out Deer Creek, South of Columbus. If offers pretty good early season bow hunting if you spend some time scouting. Most people don't venture far from the parking areas. If you do a little walking you should be alone in the early season. It consist of a good amount of ag fields and crp fields that are rotated on a yearly basis.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Delaware gets hunted pretty hard but typically not until around gun season. early on when its still hotter out if you look around you can find a place fairly easily. Ive hunted pheasant and rabbits there never deer but may check the horseshoe road area. can also take cole road off of horseshoe and find some nice places too. ive seen big deer there before when fishing or whatever.

I would stay clear during gun season though. Couldnt pay me to go there. Idiots, I mean people everywhere.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the input. I'm a now only guy really. Partly bc I don't own a muzzleloader or slug gun but mostly bc I love bow hunting. I heard that there are some bow only areas... Does anyone know about those?