Ohio Sportsman - Your Ohio Hunting and Fishing Resource banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am completely new to turkey hunting. This is the first year hat I have ever gone out, and have only been out two mornings so far. Many of the threads have been very helpful, but I'm looking for some beginner advice as well. My big questions were whether to roost birds the night before, whether to move around all day or sit in one spot, how often to call, and whether sitting on a field edge or on more fresh sign in the woods is better? Answers to any of these questions or anything else you think is important to know would be very appreciated! For now I'll just keep gong by trial and error and annoying the heck out of my family and teachers practicing mouth calling :)

·
Registered
5,522 Posts
I hunt mostly small wood lots (40-100 acres) interspersed with ag fields. I rarely roost birds because 90% of the time, they roost on the neighbors. But I know the areas that they like to hang out. I'll often spend 1-3 hours at a spot before moving. Sometimes I'll sit a field because of the visibility to watch where birds are going. Sometimes I sit the woods because I want to watch all the little birds and other animals. Some days I move more than others. It really depends on my mood and how much I want to nap. ;)😁

·
Registered
620 Posts
Patience will kill as many or more birds than anything. Woodsmanship is next on the list...stealth, use the terrain to your advantage in your approach and setup. Don't be afraid to try things...failures are your best teacher. If you make a bad call, don't stop, finish your sequence. You should have heard the hen I argued with this morning. Hunt with a good turkey hunter for some tips, pointers, & knowledge. The most important thing is simply being out there...enjoy the addiction...

·
Registered
5,836 Posts
It's great to learn everything on your own but it's invaluable to hunt with someone experienced..